Friday Poll: Do you still carry a dedicated MP3 player?

My iPod Touch sports a nice layer of dust.

(Credit: Amanda Kooser/CNET )

With Apple’s new round of iPods comes a fresh round of questions about the usefulness of dedicated MP3 players. Smartphones these days can all hold a decent amount of MP3s and we carry them with us wherever we go. Do we need a portable device just for music?

The excitement surrounding new iPods is a fraction of that surrounding new iPhones, but Apple keeps dutifully updating the line with new colors, shapes, and capabilities. There are still plenty of other MP3 players from other brands available, too.

I have an old-generation iPod Touch that sits in an alarm clock dock beside my bed. I haven’t touched it in well over a year. My iPad now has the honor of playing “Car Talk” podcasts on my nightstand until I fall asleep.

I suppose you could argue that an iPod Touch isn’t really a “dedicated MP3 player,” but that’s primarily what I used it for despite all the apps.

There’s still a place for dedicated MP3 players, but it may be shrinking. Athletes who don’t want to haul around expensive and big smartphones can turn to a tiny MP3 player for … [Read more]

Related Links:
With iPhone 5, Apple is out to prove it’s still the king
iPhone 5: What we didn’t get
LG’s public image problem: It doesn’t have one
4 smaller useful tweaks in iOS 6
iPhone 5, new iPod, may leave some cars in the dust

By: Crave: gorgeous gadgets and other crushworthy stuff. – CNET

